Social media giant, Facebook has introduced a new feature that allows users to delete old post or archive them in bulk. The new feature is called Manage Activity and it lets you view and manage your posts easily. The feature make’s it simpler for users to manage lots of posts at once. You can move posts you no longer want to the trash or delete them permanently.
According to the Facebook team, posts sent to the trash can be stored there for 30 days before being deleted unless you choose to manually delete or restore them before then. This is helpful just in case you change your mind about deleting old posts. It also comes with a filters to help you sort and find what you’re looking for, like posts with specific people or from a specific date range.
The need for the new feature, is to help reflect the current you and not the old person you used to be. Facebook wrote;
Whether you’re entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today. That’s why we’re launching Manage Activity to help you archive or trash old posts, all in one place.
The company said “the archive feature is for content you no longer want others to see on Facebook, but that you still want to keep for yourself. For example, you could archive a post you made when you were in high school that you still find amusing but that you’d rather not be seen by anyone else on Facebook”.
Facebook has announced that Manage Activity will launch first on mobile and Facebook Lite, and will be available on desktop in the future.